Xubuntu Webserver: Would You Like Without A Head?

My latest project has been to install a webserver into a computer that is not exactly new but not too old to not function properly. Since I’m designing my website at the moment, I turned that computer into a webserver. Out of all the distributions that I could put in it, I went with Xubuntu, just like I did with my external hard drive. I chose this because of the lower amount of resources that the Desktop Environment extracts and the reliability of the Ubuntu community. Now, if you are wondering what I mean by the posts’ title, I decided to turn it into a server that did not need a monitor, mouse, or keyboard.

Now, I started this with a basic installation of Ubuntu and then installed Xubuntu by typing sudo apt-get install xubuntu* xfce4*. After this finished installing itself, I installed Wifi-Radar the same way (sudo apt-get install wifi-radar). By doing so, I could ensure that my wireless connection would remain when i remove GNOME. When I had that done, I went and removed GNOME, typing sudo apt-get remove --purge gnome*. When GNOME was fully removed, I still had a few of the Xubuntu components to install. This is due to the fact that some of them are GNOME dependent. So, again I went and typed sudo apt-get install xubuntu*. Once the last components were done installing, I officially had a Xubuntu installation.

The next thing I needed to do was to turn it into a webserver. Now i went to the Ubuntu community website for configuring a LAMP server. This is basically all the components that are necessary for a webserver, using Apache, MySQL, and PHP.Ubuntu LAMP Server Installation

After doing so and configuring the whole LAMP server installation, I went to turning it into a headless server. This is only necessary if you have two computers and would not like to have another monitor, mouse, and keyboard cluttering up your desk space. Now what I needed to install first in both computers was by doing sudo apt-get install x11vnc xvnc4viewer libvncserver0 xinetd vnc4server vnc-common. This installed all the necessary components for VNC, which will allow you to connect remotely to the other computer. Next, you need to add a password to your VNC server, by typing sudo x11vnc -storepasswd yourpasswordhere /etc/x11vnc.pass. After this has been done, the last thing you need to do is put the following line at the end of /etc/inetd.conf:
5900 stream tcp nowait nobody /usr/bin/Xvnc Xvnc -inetd -desktop=Server -query localhost -IdleTimeout 7200 -depth 16 -once securitytypes=none
(Replace “Server” with something you want the window title to be, usually the server name.)

After this you should be all set. Try it out by typing “xvnc4viewer xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx” (where you fill in all the “x”‘s with the computer’s IP address.

You should now be set to use your computer remotely. Remember this should be done on both computers. NOTE: if the code I gave you above “xvnc4viewer xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx” does not work, either try “xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:0” , “xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:1″ (these are the different displays on the computer” or “xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:5900” which is through the port 5900.

~ by masterjs on February 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “Xubuntu Webserver: Would You Like Without A Head?”

  1. A few days late, I know. I ran across this post and wondered if you had considered stripping things down more. No GUI at all. Run the server completely via command line, then using SSH to log into the server remotely. It would reduce the requirements of the server significantly and ultimately allow you to accept more traffic.

  2. Well that would be the logical choice for making a website, having your system focus entirely on the incoming traffic. A lot of people like GUIs, they make things a bit simpler for them. Plus, if you use software like Apache or PhpMyAdmin, Firefox is usually used when doing these types of things. This then requires the GUI.

Leave a Reply

 
